March 2015

Haberdashers’ Aske wins its sixth Schools Cup

The Young Bridge Challenge, organised by English Bridge Education and Development took place on 28th February at Loughborough Grammar School. Seventeen teams took part, with all involved pleased that both the standard and enjoyment levels were high.

It was won for the sixth time by Haberdashers’ Aske’s Boys’ School (HABS) from Elstree, north-west London. The team of Jack Ronayne, Dylan Dissanayak​e, Jonathan Clark and Kripa Panchagnul​a (pictured left) claimed the title which HABS has won every year since 2010.

They beat the team of Aaron Hutton, David Dichmont, Anna Hutton & James Burman, from Queen Elizabeth Grammar School in Horncastle, Lincolnshire (picture) by 23 IMPs in the final. Nottingham High School (picture) beat St Paul's School from London (picture) in the 3rd/4th place playoff.

17 teams competed in the event, held at Loughborough Grammar School on 28th February. Those teams which did not qualify for the finals, or were not eligible for Schools Cup (as they were from more than one school) played in a consolation swiss teams event for the Harry Scully Trophy. This was won by Harry Madden, Gideon Harvey, Daniel Winter & Bethany Madden (pictured left). The team of Liam Sanderson, Luke Dunne, Isaac Channon & Carlos Lapuerta, from Westminster School (picture), were second and won the Schools Plate - the prize for the leading school in the swiss competition.

As seen in the pictures, part of the winners prize was special commemorative playing cards kindly donated by the Cutler Trust, the charitable trust of the Worshipful Company of Makers of Playing Cards.

Pictures from the day are available below.

Thanks to Duncan Happer and Loughborough Grammar School for their help hosting the event.

The flagship junior event organised by EBED - the Junior Teach-In - takes place in August at Loughborough University.