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Club Director’s Assessment Course  
 
QUIZ 1  Please detach the last 3 pages to use as your 
answer sheets 
 
This quiz is to be attempted at home before you com e to the course. Answers  
should be handed in when you arrive. You can use yo ur law book and blue book  
for reference. 
 
Time allowed: no fixed limit but about 1 hour is th e norm. 
 
1) Should the underlined call in these auctions be alerted or announced or neither.  

  Meaning Alert/Announce/neither Blue Book 
reference 

a) 2♣ Acol 23+ points   

b) 1NT  pass    2♥ Transfer to spades   

c) 
1♥    pass    3♥    pass 

4♣ 
Long suit trial bid   

d) 1NT  double 2♠  double Penalties   

e) 2♠ 6-card suit, 5-9 HCPs   

f) 4♣ 
Opening bid showing a 
strong pre-empt in 
hearts 

  

g) 1♠  pass  4♣ 
Splinter, showing spade 
support and shortage in 
clubs 

  

h) 1♣ 
May be only a 2-card 
suit   

(½ mark for each correct answer + ½ mark for a BB r eference. Max 8 marks) 
 

Questions are true/false (1 mark for the answer, 1 for the law reference) 
 

2) Dummy has ♠QJ2 ♥KQ3 ♦Q43 ♣Q2 left and won the last trick with ♠K. Clubs are trumps. 
Declarer now asks for the Q, after which dummy asks; ‘which queen’? 
 
Declarer may choose any of them.  
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
3) East opens 2♦ (weak two in diamonds) out of turn and not accepted. North to call opens with 1♣ 
and East overcalls with 1♦. 
 
West has to pass for one round only.  
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 
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4) East opens 2♦ (weak and a transfer for hearts) out of turn and not accepted. West to call. 
 
West has to pass for one round only.  
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
 
5)       W  N  E  S 

pass    pass  
South passes out of turn; that call is not accepted. 
South has to pass for one round only. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
 
6) When a defender during play names a card belonging to his hand without simultaneously playing it 
that card becomes a penalty card.  
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
 
7) A player should shuffle his cards before putting them back in the board. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
 
8) In a Mitchell movement with NS stationary, North and South are primarily responsible for 
maintaining proper conditions at the table 
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
 
9) As long as consecutive cards are not dealt to the same pile, any way of dealing 13 cards to each 
player (ok...face down) is legal.  
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
 

10) Declarer (South) playing in 4♠ leads ♦6 towards ♠ 7 5 3  ♥ Q 5 2 ♦ − ♣ 4 3 in dummy intending 
to trump. Left hand opponent (West) plays ♠6. Declarer says ‘small spade’ then notices the ♠6 and 
says ‘no, I mean the ♠7’. The change to the ♠7 is allowed. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 
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11) In an uncontested auction N: 2♣ S: 2♥; N: 4NT S 4♥. S thought he was replying to 4♣ Gerber 
where 4♥ would show one ace. 
 

S can change his call to 5♦ because that would show a one ace response to Blackwood. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
12) North bids 1NT out of turn. It is not accepted and North subsequently passes throughout.  East 
ends up declarer in 4♠. East can ask South to lead a specified suit. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
 
13) During play dummy may ask a defender about a possible revoke before it becomes established.  
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
 
14) Declarer leads from hand when the lead is in dummy. The defenders cannot agree where they 
want the lead from. In case of dispute the first one to speak commits the partnership. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
 

15) After a long and complicated auction South plays in 4♠ doubled. West leads ♣A and the bidding 
cards are put away. Declarer plays a singleton club from dummy and right hand opponent follows 
with a small club. At this point declarer can ask who doubled. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 

 
 
16) West opens 1NT (12 to 14). North hesitates for some time (which is agreed) and passes. East 
passes and South bids 2♠ holding ♠Q107653 ♥K7 ♦K7 ♣432. 
Without waiting for the auction or play to finish the TD stops the board being played and says that the 
board is cancelled and awards 40% to NS and 60% to EW. This is this the correct ruling. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE Law references: 
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17) The following traveller is for Board 2 of a 7 table Mitchell movement 
 
 

 BOARD NUMBER 2 
Pair No. Contract   North/South   

N/S E/W and 
results 

tricks by plus minus Match Points 

1 11 4♠ 10 N 620    

2 13 All pass   All pass   

3 15 3♥ 5 E 200    

4 17 4♠ 9 N  100   

5 12 2♠ 11 N 200    

6 14 4♠x 10 N 790    

7 16 4♠ 11 N 650    

 
Match point the traveller.       (2 marks)  
 
 
18) During a later round N/S Pair 1 are playing against E/W Pair 15. They play the first two boards of 
the round so slowly that there is not enough time for them to play the third board. The TD stops them 
from playing the board.  
 
Which is the correct way for the board to be scored? 
 
a) The TD enters ‘Not Played’ onto the traveller or into the ‘BridgeMate’, so no result is recorded. 
b) The TD enters ‘Average’ to both pairs onto the traveller or into the ‘BridgeMate’. 
 

(2 marks) 
 
Max mark = 42 
 


